All ACT foundation to year 10 schools use the Australian Curriculum as noted in the ACT Australian Curriculum Implementation Schedule for ACT Schools (2016). Full implementation of the Australian Curriculum across all schools occurred by the end of 2018. 

Early Years Learning Framework (EYLF)

The Early Years Learning Framework guides early childhood educators to develop quality, early childhood education programs. The framework describes the principles, practice and outcomes that support and enhance young children's learning from birth to five years, as well as their transition to school.   

The Australian Curriculum

The Australian Curriculum sets a national standard for student achievement in all learning areas, outlining essential knowledge, understanding and skills for young people’s future learning, growth and active participation in Australian society. Year 11 and 12 students undertaking the ACT Senior Secondary Certificate study accredited Board of Senior Secondary Studies courses.

Reporting Student Achievement in ACT Public Schools

The Australian Curriculum emphasises the importance of knowledge, understanding, skills and values that will support all young Australians to become successful learners, confident and creative individuals and active and informed citizens.

In 2011, an ACT Cross Sectoral Assessment Working Party was established to develop a best-practice guide to assessment for teachers, aligned to the intent of the Australian Curriculum. The resulting publication, the Teachers’ Guide to Assessment pdf icon (679kb) was updated in 2016, aligns with the ACT’s continued commitment to implementing the Australian Curriculum and reflects current research and evidence-based assessment practices.

In the ACT, students receive school reports at least twice a year. Students’ school reports include a grade against the relevant Achievement Statements for each learning area or subject studied.

The following A-E descriptors will appear on the report:

A demonstrating outstanding achievement of the standard
B demonstrating high achievement of the standard
C demonstrating achieving at the standard
D demonstrating partial achievement of the standard
E demonstrating limited achievement of the standard

For Kindergarten students, schools will use a five-point scale against each Achievement Standard sentence and an overall grade per learning are will not be given.

Back to Top

Last Updated